Diversity Management

Diverse employees – diverse opportunities

Why is it now particularly important to bring people together beyond the boundaries of age, gender, religion and culture?

In an increasingly heterogeneous and globalized world, companies find themselves facing changed structures, methods and ways of working – in particular as a result of the far-reaching changes that the business world has been experiencing for years.

Keyword “demographic transformation”

For years, the German population has been ageing. At the same time, the birth rate is dropping – and with it the number of people potentially available to work. According to scientific estimates, in as early as 2025 German companies will be missing around 6.5 million people (see German Federal Employment Agency 2011). Particularly affected are knowledge-heavy sectors such as information and communication technology, and the financial and services sector.

So it’s more important than ever to find and retain young talent, but also to specifically support older employees, using their experience in meaningful ways. And to bring together a healthy mix of young and old in a working environment that is characterized by acceptance and mutual trust.

Keyword “digital transformation”

Digital technologies change the way we live and work – and at the same time create great challenges for companies. Because although these technologies are constantly becoming faster and more sophisticated, using them to develop innovative products and services requires people and methods who, in terms of potential, are as multi-layered as customer requirements in a globalized world.

What that means specifically: In order to strengthen innovation, companies now often turn increasingly to agile working methods – including design thinking. This is a method that encourages working in interdisciplinary teams in order to find creative solutions. To that end it draws together a variety of talents: employees who with their individual abilities, biographies and ways of thinking are able to find innovative answers to heterogeneous customer requirements.

A leadership culture of diversity

At the same time these methods require a new kind of leadership thinking, because the use of agile working methods entails flatter hierarchies and a greater amount of responsibility for teams and individuals. For managers that means learning how to handle the loss of control and greater tolerance for errors, thereby modelling agility in their own behavior. Not least, a leadership culture of diversity includes facilitating women’s access to leadership positions, thereby ensuring a healthier mix of male and female managers.

Conclusion: In the long term, the competitive advantage will belong to those companies which manage to bring together the multi-layered competence and potential of their employees in a constructive way and to foster a tolerant and respectful way of working together – leading their diverse teams toward more innovation and the pinnacle of success.

Top

Diversity Management

Vielfältige Mitarbeiter – vielfältige Chancen

Warum kommt es heute entscheidend darauf an, Menschen über die Grenzen von Alter, Geschlecht, Religionen und Kulturen hinweg zusammenzubringen?

In einer zunehmend heterogenen und globalisierten Welt sehen sich Unternehmen veränderten Strukturen, Methoden und Arbeitsweisen gegenüber – ganz besonders infolge der tiefgreifenden Veränderungen, die die Wirtschaftswelt seit Jahren erlebt.

Stichwort “Demographischer Wandel”

Die deutsche Bevölkerung wird seit Jahren älter, gleichzeitig sinkt die Geburtenrate – und damit die Zahl potenziell verfügbarer Arbeitskräfte. Nach Schätzungen von Wissenschaftlern werden den deutschen Unternehmen bereits im Jahr 2025 etwa 6,5 Millionen Menschen fehlen (vgl.: Bundesagentur für Arbeit 2011). Besonders betroffen sind wissensintensive Branchen wie die Informations- und Kommunikations-technologie sowie der Finanz- und Dienstleistungssektor.

Es gilt daher mehr denn je, junge Talente zu finden und zu binden, aber auch, ältere Mitarbeiter gezielt zu fördern und ihre Erfahrungen sinnvoll zu nutzen. Und dabei eine gesunde Mischung aus Jung und Alt in einem Arbeitsumfeld zusammenzuführen, das von Akzeptanz und gegenseitigem Vertrauen geprägt ist.

Stichwort “Digitale Transformation”

Digitale Technologien verändern die Art, wie wir leben und arbeiten – und stellen Unternehmen gleichzeitig vor große Herausforderungen. Denn diese Technologien werden zwar immer schneller und ausgefeilter. Um allerdings mit ihrer Hilfe innovative Produkte und Services zu entwickeln, sind Menschen und Methoden gefragt, die mit ihren Potenzialen genauso vielschichtig sind wie Bedürfnisse der Kunden in einer globalisierten Welt.

Konkret heißt dies: Um die Innovationskraft zu stärken, setzen Unternehmen heute vermehrt auf agile Arbeitsmethoden – u.a. Design Thinking. Eine Methode, die das Arbeiten in interdisziplinären Teams fördert, um Fragestellungen kreativ zu lösen. Und die hierzu vielfältige Talente zusammenführt: Mitarbeiter, die mit ihren individuellen Fähigkeiten, Biographien und Denkweisen in der Lage sind, innovative Antworten auf die heterogenen Wünsche der Kunden zu finden.

Eine Führungskultur der Vielfalt

Gleichzeitig erfordern diese Methoden ein neues Führungsdenken: Denn der Einsatz agiler Arbeitsmethoden bringt flachere Hierarchien und ein größeres Maß an Selbstverantwortung für Teams und den Einzelnen mit sich. Für die Führungskräfte bedeutet dies: Sie müssen lernen, mit dem Verlust von Kontrolle und größerer Fehlertoleranz umzugehen und somit Agilität im eigenen Verhalten vorzuleben. Zu einer Führungskultur der Vielfalt zählt nicht zuletzt, Frauen den Zugang zu Führungspositionen zu erleichtern und somit für einen gesünderen Mix aus männlichen und weiblichen Vorgesetzten zu sorgen.

Fazit: Wettbewerbsvorteile erringen auf Dauer nur diejenigen Unternehmen, denen es gelingt, die vielschichtigen Kompetenzen und Potenziale ihrer Mitarbeiter konstruktiv zusammenzuführen, ein tolerantes und wertschätzendes Miteinander zu fördern – und ihre vielfältig besetzten Teams auf diese Weise zu mehr Innovation und größtmöglichem Erfolg zu führen.

Top